consumed by wanderlust

wanderlust (n.) A very strong or irresistible impulse to travel; impulse toward wandering

fernweh (n.) an ache for distant places; the craving for travel

A perfect description of my state of mind. This need to explore, craving adventure, new experiences, new people, new places.  Wanting a better sense of the world, and how I fit in it.  Will this feeling ever go away? Is it a twenty something phase? In any case, many only hope to satisfy this aching.  I have the privilege of indulging my wanderlust by spending six weeks in….drumroll….

INDIA

india-traditional-celebration india_elephant

It has been a dream of mine for a long time. And here I am, three weeks away from a long awaited trip across the globe. What better place to fill your senses? A place so different from what I know, I have no choice but to immerse and embrace.  Embrace the beauty of this country with it’s vibrant colors, spectacular architecture, spirituality and fascinating history. Juxtaposed to the realities of heartbreaking poverty and injustices against women that are hard for me to understand. I intend to explore both worlds and get a better understanding of this country and its traditions.

With such an exciting journey ahead, I’ll be posting more frequently with more details. Stay tuned…

2 thoughts on “consumed by wanderlust

Add to the conversation

